How to Clear Continue Watching List on Netflix

How to Clear Continue Watching List on Netflix

No matter the device or method used to watch Netflix shows, as soon as you start, a new list of titles appears labeled “Continue Watching.” Even if you finish a show to the very end, many shows end up piling up in this list with no visible way to clear them. Luckily, you can clear your Continue Watching list on Netflix through your viewing history. This can only be done on a computer while logged in to Netflix’s website.

Manage Viewing History to Clear ‘Continue Watching’ List

To clear your Netflix Continue Watching List, delete titles from your viewing history. Netflix allows you to remove entire series or individual episodes.

To start, go to the Netflix website. Log in and take note of the titles you want to remove from your Continue Watching list. In this example, I’ll be removing Grace and Frankie.

Next, hover over your name in the top right corner of the Netflix page. Click “Your Account” in the menu. Scroll to the “My Profile” section on the account page and click “Viewing Activity.”

Tip: You can check which streaming devices have accessed your Netflix account and the corresponding dates and times. Click See recent account access at the top for a separate list of these devices.

Now find the show in your viewing activity that you want to remove from the Continue Watching list. If you’re removing a series, choose one episode for now. Click the X to the right of the show to remove it. Netflix will remove the show’s history from all devices within 24 hours, but it’s usually immediate.

See also  How to Change Name in Zoom on Mobile, iPad, and PC

How to Clear Continue Watching List on Netflix

If you removed a Netflix title that isn’t in a series like a movie, you can stop there. Otherwise, in the deletion message, Netflix asks if you want to remove the entire series from your history. Click “Remove series?” to completely remove all episodes, thus clearing it from the Continue Watching list. Head back to the Netflix home page. The titles you wanted to remove from the Continue Watching list should be gone, or if you removed all of them, the list itself should be no longer present. If this isn’t the case, give it up to 24 hours as Netflix suggests for all of your devices to sync up.

How to Clear Continue Watching List on Netflix

In this example, Grace and Frankie is no longer in Continue Watching. You can search for the shows you remove on Netflix again to make them reappear.

If you don’t want to delete your viewing history on Netflix just to clear the Continue Watching list, you can set up a new profile and start fresh. However, keep in mind that this will cause you to lose all the tastes and recommendations you’ve built up over time. To create a new profile, hover over your name and click Manage Profiles in the menu. Then, click Add Profile to enter a name and save it. You can also add profiles from other devices.

Leave a Comment