How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

WhatsApp is the ultimate instant messaging app. However, it has also become a source of brand marketing, spam, and forwarded messages. Fortunately, you can mute or block someone on WhatsApp.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

When you block someone on WhatsApp, what happens? Can the blocked person call you? Can they see your profile picture? In this article, we will explore blocking on WhatsApp in detail, answering these questions and explaining the nuances of this action.

How to Block Someone on WhatsApp

Before we discuss what happens after blocking someone, let’s first explore how to block a number on WhatsApp.

To block a known or unknown number on WhatsApp, follow these steps:

1. Open WhatsApp.

2. Go to the chat window.

3. Tap on the contact’s name or number at the top.

4. Scroll down and select “Block [name or number]”.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

There is a difference between blocking a regular or business account on WhatsApp. For non-business users, just tap Block. To block a business account, choose a reason and then tap Block.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

To block a group, follow these steps: Tap the group’s name at the top → scroll down and select Block group name.

See also  7 Cool Screenshot Apps for Android

What Happens When You Block Someone on WhatsApp

Blocking someone on WhatsApp results in a series of changes that affect both parties involved.

When You Block Someone on Whatsapp What Do They See

While we will break down each feature in detail, here’s a brief summary:

Features
Blocked Person
You
Exchange Messages No No
Call each other No No
Participate in a common group Yes Yes
Check Last Seen No No
View Online Status No No
See Status update No Yes
Receive Read receipt No No
View Profile picture changes No Yes
View Stories No No

If You Block Someone on Whatsapp Will They Know

Report someone on WhatsApp or block them, and the platform won’t notify them. However, they can figure out if they’re blocked by noticing that they can no longer call, message, or see your updates. The same applies when unblocking someone. Blocking and then unblocking someone won’t trigger any notifications for the user.

Can a Blocked Contact Message or Call Me

No. WhatsApp doesn’t make it clear when someone has been blocked, so messages from blocked contacts won’t be delivered. Messages sent to you will show one check mark (message sent) but never a second check mark (message delivered). If a blocked person calls your WhatsApp number, you won’t be notified. Basically, blocked contacts can message or call you, but you won’t receive their messages or notifications.

No. You can see the keyboard and type in the message, but you can’t send it. WhatsApp requires you to unblock the contact/number before sending a message.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

If You Block Someone on WhatsApp Can They See Old Messages

Blocking someone on WhatsApp does not delete messages or existing media. Both you and the blocked person can view the old messages. Blocking someone does not affect the media files shared and saved on your phone, unless they are deleted manually.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

Blocking and reporting someone on WhatsApp will result in the deletion of all existing chats.

See also  How to Convert MKV to MP4 on Windows and Mac

If I Block Someone on WhatsApp Can I See Their Online Status, Last Seen, or Profile Picture

When you block someone, they cannot see if you are online. The status area under your name in the chat will be blank. Blocking also prevents them from seeing your last seen.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

Both you and the blocked contact will not see each other’s last seen, regardless of whether you have hidden it from other contacts or not. The same applies to Profile Picture; a blocked contact won’t see your picture and will instead see the default WhatsApp profile picture. However, you can still view the blocked person’s current and future profile picture updates unless they block you as well.

If I Block Someone Can I See Their Whatsapp Status

WhatsApp’s privacy settings allow you to block someone, which will hide your stories from them and their stories from your list. However, you will still be able to see their About section and any changes made to it.

Do You See a Blocked Contact Message in Groups

Interestingly, conversations in WhatsApp group chats remain unaffected when you block a group member. Both of you can see messages from each other in common groups. However, you may not receive notifications for their messages or media.

Blocking someone on WhatsApp does not remove them from your contact list. To delete a blocked contact from your list, you need to manually remove their number from your device’s contacts.

What Happens When You Block a Group

Blocking a group functions similarly to blocking a contact. It prevents messages, calls, and notifications from the group, without notifying its members.

What Happens When You Unblock Someone

When you unblock someone on WhatsApp, the previous changes are reversed. However, the messages sent during the time they were blocked will not be delivered retroactively. You will only see new messages.

Blocking vs. Removing vs. Muting

In the realm of WhatsApp, users have options to manage interactions and control message flow and notifications. Blocking a contact restricts all communication. Removing a contact doesn’t disrupt WhatsApp communication, but they can still message or call you, depending on privacy settings. Muting a contact or group temporarily silences notifications without cutting off communication.

See also  How to Block Someone Who Blocked You on Facebook

To review all blocked contacts on Whatsapp,

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

To unblock a contact on iPhone, go to Settings → Privacy → Blocked contacts. On an Android phone, tap the three-dot icon at the top-right corner of WhatsApp and navigate to Settings → Account → Privacy → Blocked contacts. To unblock a contact or number, select the contact, scroll, and tap Unblock contact.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

On an iPhone, you can tap Edit from the top-right corner and tap – next to the contact /number or swipe left the contact or number and tap Unblock.

How To Block Someone on WhatsApp And What Happens After Blocking

Note: You can also block on WhatsApp from here. Scroll down the list, tap Add New, and select the contact.

Block Someone on WhatsApp and Stop Them From Disturbing You

Blocking someone on WhatsApp has a significant impact on your interactions with that person. It gives you control over who can reach and see your activity on the platform. Before using this feature, it’s important to understand its consequences. We hope this article helps you make an informed decision. Feel free to share your thoughts or questions in the comment section.

Leave a Comment