How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Google Drive is a user-friendly platform for file sharing, but it also allows spammers to share malicious and abusive content. To address this issue, Google has introduced the Block feature. This feature lets you stop unknown individuals from sharing files with you and removes any files they have shared. It also revokes their access to files you have previously shared. In this post, we will explain how to block and unblock someone on Google Drive using both mobile and PC devices. Let’s begin.

Blocking someone on Google Drive will delete any files that the person and vice versa have shared. Here’s how it works on PC. Step 1: Open your web browser and log in to Google Drive. Step 2: Go to the ‘Shared with me’ tab on your left. Here, you’ll find all the files shared with your account. Navigate to the file shared by the user you want to block. Right-click on the file and choose ‘Block [email-id]’ from the list. Step 3: Click Block to confirm. Note: You can’t block users with the same domain if you use Google Drive at work or school.

Now blocked users won’t share files with you. Blocking someone on Google Drive also blocks them on other Google services like Gmail, Chat, Maps, etc.

How to Block Someone on Google Drive on Mobile

You can block someone using the Google Drive app on your phone. The app offers a similar experience on Android and iPhone. Here’s how to block someone on Google Drive app for mobile.

See also  8 Best Ways to Fix Google Drive Storage Full But No Files in It Issue

Step 1: Open the Google Drive app on your phone. Go to the Shared tab.

Step 2: Find a file shared by the person you want to block. Click the three-dot menu icon next to it. Scroll down and tap ‘Block [email-id]’.

When you block someone, Google won’t notify them. But afterwards, they won’t be able to share any files with you.

If you change your mind and want to share with someone you previously blocked, you’ll need to unblock them first. Here’s how to unblock someone on Google Drive on PC:Step 1: Go to Google Drive’s homepage.Step 2: Click your profile picture in the upper right and select ‘Manage your Google Account.’Step 3: Go to the ‘People and sharing’ tab on the left and click ‘Blocked’ on the right.

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Step 4: Below is a list of all the users you’ve blocked. Click the X icon next to their username to unblock them.

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

That’s it. Now users can share files with you as before. However, unblocking the person does not restore shared files.

How to Unblock Someone on Google Drive on Mobile

Similar to the web version, you can unblock someone on Google Drive app on your iPhone or Android by visiting account management settings on the app. Here’s how. Open the Google Drive app on your phone. Click on your profile picture in the upper right corner and tap on the ‘Manage your Google Account’ option.

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Step 2: Go to the ‘People and sharing’ tab, then tap on Blocked under Contacts.

See also  How to Convert Google Docs File to PDF on Desktop and Phone

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Step 3: Tap on the X icon next to the person’s username to unblock.

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Google Drive

Using Google Drive, whether on a web browser or the app, blocking and unblocking someone is a straightforward process.

The Block feature introduced by Google is a positive step. While it may not fully protect against spammers, it adds an additional hurdle for them. Additionally, it gives users some control over shared content.

How important is this feature to you? Do you have any suggestions for improvement? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Leave a Comment