Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Too many updates on Facebook can be overwhelming. You can unfriend, unfollow, or take a break from someone to manage your feed. Let’s understand the difference between these options.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

‘Flames to dust. Lovers to friends. Why do all good things come to an end?’ Those lyrics from the song “All Good Things (Come To An End)” by Nelly Furtado depict the sadness of life. The harshest way to end things on Facebook is by blocking someone. However, not everyone wants to block multiple people. You can unfollow, unfriend, or take a break from them. But what’s the difference between these options and which one should you choose? Find the answer here as we compare them.

What Does Unfriend Mean on Facebook

Unfriend is the oldest option on Facebook to stop communicating. When you unfriend someone, you are removed from each other’s friends list. It’s a two-way feature. Even if one unfriends, the repercussions will be the same for both. That is, you both will not be able to see each other’s private posts — both current and past.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

What Does Unfollow Mean on Facebook

Unfollow is a form of mild unfriending without notification. It involves not seeing someone’s posts on your timeline, while still allowing them to see your posts. This effectively hides their posts from your view.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

What Does Take a Break Mean on Facebook

Take a break helps you take a break from someone on Facebook by unfollowing them and adding them to the restricted list. When you take a break, three things happen: you can’t see their posts on your feed, they can’t see your private posts, and you have the option to delete past posts between you or keep them.

See also  14 Cool Gadgets to Buy Under Rs 500 In India

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

The interesting thing about this feature is that you can let one or two things happen and keep the third intact. You can choose what you want to do with this feature. Whatever decision you make, all that happens without unfriending the other person. They continue to remain in your friends’ list. Now that you have a brief idea about each feature, let’s see what happens to various things on Facebook when you use one of those three.

What Happens to News Feed Updates

Let’s analyze each feature.

Unfriend

Being friends on Facebook is essential for viewing private posts. If you unfriend someone, you won’t see their updates in your news feed or on their profile, unless their post setting is set to public. In that case, you will only see their public posts when you visit their profile, and all private posts will be hidden.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Unfollow

The Unfollow feature hides other people’s future updates from your feed, meaning the posts won’t appear automatically. However, you can still see their posts if you visit their profile and their privacy settings allow it.

Unfollowing doesn’t change anything for the other person. Your posts will still appear in their feed and on your timeline if they choose to check. It simply hides their updates from your view.

Take a Break

The Take a break feature allows you to customize its settings. You can stop seeing someone’s post on your feed and hide your posts from their view. When you choose this option, Facebook will automatically unfollow the person. Their posts will not appear on your feed.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

By enabling the second option, the person will be added to your Restricted list. They will no longer be able to see your posts on their feed or your timeline. Only public posts will remain visible.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Note

What Happens to Facebook Stories

Similar to news feed updates, unfriending someone removes the ability to view each other’s stories. The story won’t appear on your feed either. However, if a story is public and you visit the other person’s profile, you can still view it.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

In the case of Unfollow, the other person’s stories will not appear in your feed. However, you can still view them by visiting their profile. Your stories will be visible to them.

See also  How to Block Someone on Telegram on Desktop, Android, or iOS

When taking a break, it depends on two factors. If you limit their posts, their stories won’t appear for you. Likewise, if you limit your posts, they won’t see your stories even if they visit your profile. That’s how Restricted lists work.

Posting on the Wall

When unfriending someone, you lose the ability to communicate through wall posts. This means you can no longer publish anything on their wall, and they cannot post on yours.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

The Unfollow or Take a break feature doesn’t impact the ability to publish on each other’s wall. You can still post on the other person’s wall if their privacy setting allows it.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Similar to wall posts, both of you lose the ability to comment or like the private posts of the other person when you unfriend them. However, if a post is public, then you can like or comment on it. Again, this depends on the individual privacy setting for letting your followers comment on your posts.

In the case of the Unfollow and Take a break, if a post is visible, the other person can comment or like it.

Can You Message Each Other

In all three cases, you can still message each other. None of the options affects your conversation on Facebook Messenger.

What Happens to Past Posts

Unfriending someone hides past posts from each other unless they are public. The past posts are not affected by unfollowing. Meaning, you can still view each other’s previous posts.

When it comes to Take a break, you have three options for past posts between you two. You can keep them as they are or edit their privacy settings individually. Alternatively, you can delete all the past posts.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Where Can You Use These Facebook Features

Unfriend only works for people on your friends list. You can unfollow your friend, liked pages, and groups. Take a break feature works for everyone on Facebook.

All three features last until manually revoked. This means that one person must re-add the other after using the unfriend option. Similarly, you must follow the person again to see their updates in your feed. The Take a break feature also continues until undone.

See also  Dropbox vs Google Drive vs SpiderOak: Which to Choose?

If you need something temporary, use the Facebook Snooze feature. It includes all the Unfollow features, but only lasts for 30 days.

Do Others Know When You Use These Options

While Facebook doesn’t send a notification to the other person for any of the three options, unfriending someone will make it directly apparent. Their profile will seem locked, and the Add Friend button will no longer be visible. Find out who unfriended you on Facebook.

Facebook Take a Break vs Unfollow and Unfriend: How Do They Differ

Unfollowing someone isn’t easy to detect, but if you used to like or comment on their posts, they might sense something is wrong. If you take a break, they can confirm from a mutual friend if your posts are visible to them. However, limiting their posts from showing up on your feed might make things apparent.

You Should Break Free

If you don’t want the other person to see your posts and you are okay with not seeing theirs, but you also don’t want to block them, you can unfriend them. If you are bothered by someone’s posts, you can unfollow them. That way you will not have to fry your brains by reading contrasting posts and it will happen without unfriending them. Unfriending or blocking someone can come across as too harsh just to avoid someone. So you should take a break from them on Facebook. Next up: Is Facebook getting on your nerves? Do you want to uninstall the app from your phone? Know what happens by uninstalling Facebook and Messenger from the next link.

Leave a Comment