Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Snapchatting about your day-to-day life can inform your friends of your activities. Alternatively, occasionally sharing a ‘vacay mode Snap’ can also suffice. However, what if you unintentionally sent the wrong Snap while in the moment? If you’ve found yourself in this situation and are curious about the possibility of unsending or deleting Snaps on Snapchat, read on.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

You can’t unsend snaps on Snapchat, but you can delete them, which is similar to the unsend feature and prevents the recipient from accessing them. However, there are restrictions to deleting Snapchat snaps. Let’s explore more about it in the next section.

Note: Deleting a snap doesn’t affect the streak score. But you’ll need to send another snap to keep the snap streak going.

Things to Know Before Deleting Snaps

There are a few things to consider before deleting snaps on Snapchat. Here’s what you need to know:

– If the other user is running an old version of Snapchat, there’s a chance that Snap might not get deleted from their end.

– Deleting certain Snaps will trigger notifications, letting the other user know that a Snap has been deleted.

– Snapchat automatically deletes snaps once they expire or are viewed.

– Snapchat deletes unopened snaps after 7 days in group conversations and after 31 days in personal (one-on-one) chats.

See also  How to Change YouTube Language on Web and Mobile Apps

How to Delete a Snap From Snapchat

Here are various methods to delete Snapchat snaps. The steps are the same for iOS and Android devices. Let’s begin.

1. Delete a Picture From Chats on Snapchat

Snapchat allows you to delete sent pictures and Stories to your friends. This means that if you sent the wrong snap via personal chat, you will need to delete it from the Snapchat message. Follow these steps on Android or iPhone.

Step 1: Open the Snapchat app.

Step 2: Tap on the Chat icon.

Step 3: Tap on the relevant user to open their Chat window.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 4: Long-press the snap you wish to delete. Step 5: Tap Delete from the options.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 6: Tap on Delete.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

This will delete sent snaps from Snapchat. Although the deleted snap will no longer be available, a message will be visible in the Chat window, informing the user that a snap has been deleted.

Tip: You can also change the chat settings to auto-delete the snap after it is viewed by the recipient. Long-press on the friend’s name or group > select Chat Settings > Delete Chats > select After Viewing.

2. Remove a Picture From Snapchat Story

Apart from live Snaps, Snapchat allows users to add camera roll photos to their Stories. If a wrong picture is selected, it will be uploaded to your Story. In that case, go to the My Story section and individually delete the Snaps. Here’s how to do it on iOS and Android:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat app and tap your profile icon.

Step 2: Scroll down to the My Story section and tap your story.

See also  7 Ways to Fix Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX201 Adapter Driver or Hardware Issues

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 3: Open the Snap you wish to delete and tap on the three-dot icon. Step 4: Tap on Delete.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 5: Tap Delete again in the pop-up to confirm.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

This will remove the picture from your Snapchat Story. You can repeat these steps to delete any other picture from your Snapchat Story.

3. Remove Snaps From Memories

Usually, Snapchat Stories and Snaps are auto-deleted within 24 hours. However, you can save certain snaps to your Snapchat Memories. But, you might end up knowingly saving unnecessary snaps. In that case, open your Snapchat Memories and delete the extra snaps. Here’s how to do it.

Tip: If you’re having trouble loading Snapchat Memories, check out our other article.

Step 1: Open the Snapchat mobile app.

Step 2: Swipe up from the bottom of the screen.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 3: Open Snapchat Memories, scroll to the relevant Snap, and tap on it.

Step 4: Tap the three-dot icon.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 5: Tap on Delete Snap.

Step 6: Tap on Delete again to confirm.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

To delete saved pictures from Memories on Snapchat, follow these steps.

4. Delete a Picture From Snap Map

If you’ve visited a place and want to document it, you can add it to your Snap Map. This Snap will be visible to other people checking out that location. However, if you don’t want others to know where you’ve been, in addition to turning on Ghost Mode, you can also delete that Snap from your Snap Map. Here’s how.Step 1: Open Snapchat.Step 2: In the top left corner, tap your profile icon.Step 3: Scroll down to the ‘Spotlight & Snap Map’ section.Step 4: Tap the Snap.

See also  How To Integrate Your Yahoo & Hotmail Accounts With Gmail

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 5: Open the relevant Snap and tap the three-dot icon.

Step 6: Tap Delete Snap.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Step 7: Tap Delete to confirm.

Can You Unsend or Delete Snaps on Snapchat

Deleting the picture from your Snap Map also allows you to remove other Snapchat photos from the Snap Map.

5. Delete Your Snapchat Account

Deleting Snaps on Snapchat can be done by deleting your Snapchat account. This will delete all the Snaps you’ve sent. Furthermore, the other user will not be notified if a Snap has been deleted from the Chat window. For more information, see our explainer on deleting your Snapchat account.

FAQ for Deleting Snaps on Snapchat

You can remove multiple pictures from Snapchat Memories instead of removing one Snap at a time. Just select all the pictures and delete them together using the menu options.

Delete Those Snaps

If you’ve sent the wrong Snap by mistake, we can help you delete those Snaps on Snapchat. Consider changing your username or display name to go incognito.

Leave a Comment